Meen The Band

I attended a performance tonight at the Deir El Amar Festival (which is very poorly organized by the way) and got to see Meen The Band for the second time live.

I first saw them at the “Fête de la Musique” in Martyrs’ Square and I already had their album before and listened to it (which has a very cool cover [picture above]). I now know exactly how I feel about the band.

Honestly, my first impression when I heard the first few minutes of a song from the album was “hehe”, I thought it was kind of funny; but as I listened to their songs one after the other I thought that it is just too much and actually felt they were getting a bit silly. So I went to see the concert and I still had the same feeling, the songs were kind of meaningless and well “silly”.

If they were part of a comedy show and put all of that effort into one hillarious song and performed that song, it would have been PERFECT! But I totally disagree with having a band basing their music on things so random and meaningless.

I’m not saying that every band in the world HAS to fight for a cause or something like that not at all, it’s just that “too random” can become “too silly sometimes”.

As I said, I think Meen would fit perfectly in a comedy show; them being a “rock band” is a bit out of context I believe.

I hope I didn’t offend the band, that’s not my intention at all, I just wanted to say what I had in mind that’s all.

I fully support the band as an independant Lebanese band and wish them all the best and I will keep attending their concerts whenever I can.

Check out www.meentheband.com and follow them on twitter: @meentheband .

Looking forward for comments and discussion.

5 Responses to Meen The Band

  1. Thanks for the comments everyone.

    To Rania:

    First of all I mentioned in the post what I judged the band on: their latest album (picture of the cover included in the post) and the songs they sang in their last concerts (deir el kamar and fete de la musique)
    Of course I did not listen to the whole 5 albums and I’m sure you don’t listen to all of the albums of every band u want to judge or decide if u like them or not. Its not like I listened to one song and that’s it, I listened to one whole album and attended two concerts!
    I know that their energy on stage is unbelievable and I agree but that doesn’t make me want to listen to their music!
    And I did go to the facebook group and saw how many fans the band has and I’m sure that those 2000+ members of the group will disagree with me but that doesn’t make what I’m saying wrong or invalid, its my opinion and I’m entitled to it.
    So dear friend try accepting the fact that not everyone agrees with u and enjoys meen’s music. U don’t have to agree, just accept it.

    Thanks again for your comment.

  2. Rania says:

    Obviously the person that wrote that article know a little and almost nothing about Meen’s repertoire. And just by visit Meen’s page on facebook and reading the comments, you know that people do not agree with this post.
    Fouad and Toni are extremely talented, witty and talented!
    Their work is so wonderful and touching, and I am not only talking about the music, but also about the theatre and film.

    Their music is so moving and original. Listening to “kamlo el harb” for example makes you cry. Other songs they did for annahar for example are extremely emotional.

    And the energy on stage is so unbelievable. I believe no other lebanese band could do it.

    so dear friend, before writing an article about a band, take the time to listen to the complete repertoire. they have more than 5 albums and many many singles.

    Go Meen… you are the best!

  3. Maya says:

    I disagree with this post Karim… IMHO Meen are the smartest, wittiest, funniest Lebanese band currently in the local music scene (and for me, internationally). They don’t fall in the ‘wannabe artsy’ aspect. Their music has character while being very authentic. I was at Fête de la Musique but very sad I missed Deir El Amar–wish there were some pics!!

  4. Once when I was on vacation abroad, I met a mysterious old stranger. He said he was about to die and wanted to tell someone about the treasure. I said, “Okay, as long as it’s not a long story. Some of us have a plane to catch, you know.” He stared telling his story, about the treasure and his life and all, and I thought: “This story isn’t too long.” But then, he kept going, and I started thinking, “Uh-oh, this story is getting long.” But then the story was over, and I said to myself: “You know, that story wasn’t too long after all.” I forget what the story was about, but there was a good movie on the plane. It was a little long, though.

  5. I think you’re right in that not all their songs should be parody. I saw them at the CC salon in Obros ok clemecau and they sang about 2 or 3 songs and it was very entertaining and I enjoyed it. In that context the parody songs are funny, but if I get the album and find out that all the songs are like that I would be a little dissapoonted…

What Do You Think About This Post?

