My Mustache Experience

During the Media Research Methods course at LAU, by Dr. Khaled Nasser

Professor: Do you need extra credit on your average?

Class: Yes!

Professor: Men, grow a mustache; Women, apply “henna” on your entire hand.

This project is an autoethnographic experiment.

Auto-ethnography is defined as a form of autobiographical personal narrative that explores the writer’s experience of life. In auto-ethnography the researcher becomes the primary participant/subject of the research in the process of writing personal stories and narratives.

As Dr. Nasser puts it, “The objective of this project is to stimulate you to change one simple thing in you and monitor how your life, your perceptions, the life of those around you might change because of this little change in you.”
At the end of the experiment we have to present a report of the main insights we discover about the impact of the change on ourselves and other people.

Dr. Khaled Nasser (notice how HE has a mustache... coincidence? hmm?)

I just shaved my beard and kept the mustache, and believe me it’s no “little” change! I’m going to have to explain to each person I see/meet why I’m doing this!
I sometimes forget that I now have a mustache and just burst into laughter when I see myself in the mirror.
I’ll probably get used to it since we have to keep the mustache for 20 days..what’s cool is that if it weren’t for this research project I probably would have never grown a mustache so it’s fine, I’m happy with that.

Here I am (right) Very Happy With My Normal Look

Oh and we have to update our facebook profile pictures with a picture of our new look!
So far, reactions varied from HAHAHAHAHA to complete shock, confusion, and disappointment!
I’ll publish the report by January 20, 2011 (yey! first time writing 2011..happy new year!)

Here I'm Very Sad With My Silly Mustache..Counting the days till January 20!

5 Responses to My Mustache Experience

  1. Buzzpedia says:

    {Simply|Just} {want to|wish to|desire to} say your article is as {astonishing|amazing|surprising|astounding}. The {clearness|clarity} in your post is {simply|just} {spectacular|nice|excellent|cool|great} and i {can|could} assume {you are|you’re} an …

    Its like you read my mind! You appear to know so much about this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you can do with a few pics to drive the message home a bit, but other than that, this is great blog. An excellent read. I’ll def…

  2. krikorian says:

    HAHAHAHA man you look like an actor in this old Mexican movies 😀

  3. Rayssa says:

    HAHAHA nice karim!! ba3den i think they’re nice!!!!

  4. Mich says:

    I like! Fascinating project. I look forward to reading the report 🙂

What Do You Think About This Post?

