The Baghdad Monologue – My First Theatre Production

The poster was designed by Dounia Nassar. (Click To Enlarge)

 

It is the first time I direct a play. I have worked in many theatre productions before and in different positions, but this is the first time I direct a play! It’s exciting and I’m enjoying it.

The Team During Rehearsals. Unfortunately we don't get to rehearse in the theatre before the 5 day period right before the performance (what we call "The Get In") because so many plays are being staged this semester.

 

As communication arts students at the Lebanese American University (LAU) each of us has to direct a one act play as part of the Play Production I course we take in our second or third year; and I chose “The Baghdad Monologue”. It’s not as easy as it seemed but we’re working well and hopefully we’ll have a beautiful performance, I have an amazing team helping me out.

 

Fuad Halwani is acting in the play. I'm glad he's acting with me, he has acted in so many plays before and has a lot of experience. He's also a good friend.

 

The play discusses the war in Iraq from a media perspective, told by an Iraqi father who has lost his son. It is written by Alejandro Viñao, an Argentinean playwright and will be staged on April 5, 2011 at 6:00 PM in LAU’s Irwin Theatre for one night only.

Here is the list of cast and crew:

Cast

Fuad Halwani

Crew

Technical Director: Imane Khozam
Stage Managers: Maha Bracks & Toulyn Lababidi
Set Designer: Hussein Nakhal
Lighting Designer: Layal Kreidieh
Sound Designer: Rayssa Kanso
Costumes & Make-up Designers: Sarag Payelian & Gassig
Karamanougian
Poster Designer: Dounia Nassar
Publicity Manager: Camelia Arab
Director: Karim Bekdache

Facebook Event: http://bit.ly/tbmlau

One Response to The Baghdad Monologue – My First Theatre Production

  1. Fuad says:

    Thumbs up!!!!

What Do You Think About This Post?

